Update


It took three tries, but it seems like they finally found an anti-depressant that mostly works for me, so I’ve actually been getting quite a bit done in the past few weeks. So why haven’t I posted any of it? Because my precious laptop is going to die any second so I’ve spent the last several weeks getting it backed up onto our desktop and getting all of my apps installed and configured on it; though the desktop has a more powerful processor and graphics card, it has half the memory of my laptop and thus can’t due the graphics and image editing I need it to. Now that all of that is done, I’ll be posting blogs and uploaded game aids as often as the two computers will let me.

My Pokémon DSi-sized type chart and pocket-sized EV booklets are ready for upload, but neither computer can get the job done. Look for those download links as soon as I can manage it. For the short term I am creating a PNG of the type chart and will make that available.


Since the next season of D&D Encounters starts at level 4, I am making some new pre-gens for the sake of walk-in players. I have finished the halfling thief (slinger), but haven’t yet finalized how I want things arranged on the page. In order to ensure that I can get them all done by the 19th, I am mostly pulling from my collection of dozens of Encounters characters from back before I started running it. In addition to the halfling thief, I am making a half orc scout, a human spell-chucker of some sort (got plenty to choose from in my notebook), a dwarf fighter (probably great weapon), and was going to make an elf seeker or other archer but the current party already has two hunters.

So I’d like some suggestions of newbie-friendly characters I could make in a hurry. I’d like to get in an elf-blood and another human, as well as a leader. The problem with the leader is that we can’t think of one that won’t overwhelm new players (this season we’ve had two players show up who had never roleplayed before). The simplest we’ve come up with is the warpriest. (One of our regulars is sticking with the sentinel druid she’s been playing for two seasons now so we eliminated that from consideration.)

We likewise had problems thinking of a non-overwhelming defender, but ultimately settled on the standard fighter (the knight is one of my favorite classes, but we’ve seen multiple people new to the game struggle with it). If you can think of a better option please let me know since I haven’t started that character yet.

While waiting for the Internet to come back just now (we live out in the country so our lights and Internet blink a lot during rain and wind storms), I was flipping through my notebook of Encounters of pre-gens. I had forgotten that of my first characters after the release of Heroes of the Fallen Lands was an elf sun warpriest, so that’s another point in the warpriest’s favor.


Does anyone know why WordPress isn’t displaying my sidebar?

Leave a Reply

