Cribbage, Quest Cards, and D&D, Oh My


Cribbage Dice

For some strange reason, Cribbage Dice remains the most popular page here, even though I posted it more than three years ago. Because of that I went back and gave it a much-needed update. There were a couple of typos I had overlooked previously, and I was unhappy with the way I phrased some things. That was before I knew about Creative Commons, so I changed the license from traditional copyright to CC-BY-SA, freeing people to take the game and make it their own. I also added an example of play, complete with pictures.

Quest Cards

If you spend a lot of time GameMastering, then you may be interested in Johnn Four’s free Roleplaying Tips Weekly, a weekly newsletter full of great tips, guest articles, and contests. I have been getting it via email for years, and just recently found it was available via RSS, which is cool because a lot of sites have cut their RSS feeds. This week’s included an article by Chris Sniezak about quest cards, which are designed to help groups that meet infrequently (i.e. at least two weeks between sessions) keep track of what’s going on, but any sandbox could also be helped by them.

Briefly, the idea is to have a stack of cards or Post-Its (or Lino, the virtual corkboard my wife and I will most likely use), each holding a separate quest in a nutshell. That way both the GM and players can very quickly find out who gave which quest, the exact task or reward, and any other pertinent info. Johnn closed the article with a request for printable templates, so I took an hour and whipped one up. I also made it an A4 version, but have no way to test it to make sure it prints correctly, but I’m pretty sure it will.

D&D 5e Character Sheet Update

Since I am playing in D&D Adventurers’ League this season rather than GMing, I have made quite a few changes to my character sheets, and as well as several completely new variations. If I uploaded everything separately it would be at least half a dozen different documents, so I have combined them into three three. The first is my original sheet, with the skills on the back page, leaving a handy Character Notes space on the front.

The second is a new combined supersheet that takes the front page of my mage/single-page sheet, which moves the skills into the Character Notes space, and pairs it with seven options for the back page: blank except for guide lines, three different ways of listing inventory, and then three grimoires, one for most classes, then warlocks, and finally, characters using the optional Spell Points rules from the DMG (p 287).

Update 2015-05-20: It now includes a page where druids can detail up to five beast forms.

The grimoires and inventory sheets were actually derived from stand-alone versions I made months ago. The key difference is that since the stand-alones will not be on the back of character sheets, they each have a line for the player’s, character’s, and GM/campaign’s names. That way it’s no big deal if they get mixed in with another character. It has the has the same sheets in the same order as the supersheet, but with the added identification line on each sheet.

Leave a Reply

