Happiness Jar #3 for 2017-02-13


This is actually last week’s jar, but I’ve only now had the time to write it up because the good news itself has kept me busy – which is further good news since that busyness means I’ve only had one major Depressive funk in the past week or so, and that was Saturday night). After a several-month unintentional hiatus, we are finally going to be roleplaying again, in the Fairy Tail campaign I mentioned in “Happiness Jar #2“. The GM’s books should be arriving tomorrow, so we hope to be doing character creation before Pokémon League this Saturday, so that will probably be this week’s HJ.

Last week’s jar is that I finally settled on how I would do the Requip ability if I were the GM, meaning that as of Saturday I was able to make Natsu, Gray (mostly), Erza (and by extension the gun requippers, but their attacks are my current project since that’s the kind of character I’m leaning towards), and had a rough idea of how to do Lucy (Allies (Summonable, +20%, Magic, +10%; Must have the spirit’s key, -25%; Pact (??), -?%)), but don’t know enough about celestial mages’ contracts with their spirits to create their Pacts, so that’s probably as far as I’ll go on that.

Since I’m not the GM I’m not going to actually post any of that anywhere until he gets a shot at making his own versions, especially since he’s getting Thaumatology, which is near the top of our trpg wishlist, but I used Powers, which he isn’t getting, so our results will be quite different. In fact, everything I have made for the game is an Advantage – even Erza’s armors are Advantages like Limited DR, IAs, and Flight added onto armor purchased with money – and about half of them are Innate Attacks.

Once the campaign actually gets going (next week, with any luck) I’ll post everything, and with the GM’s permission I’ll also post his versions so it will all be available to anyone who wants to use or adapt it. If you do so then please leave a comment on that post, and leave a link if you posted your version somewhere. I always love to see how others build upon my work, which is exactly why our Constitution tasks the government with giving people patent and copyright protections “for limited times” to “promote the Progress of Science and useful Arts”, but I’ll go into that in a future post.

Leave a Reply

